HbbTV Symposium




With an overwhelming number of submissions to the inaugural HbbTV Awards the shortlisted entries which the prestigious panel of judges will assess has been confirmed. The HbbTV Symposium 2017 takes place in Rome on 17th-18th October 2017. A panel of HbbTV experts led by Matthew Huntington has decided on the shortlist and the finalists are:

Best use of HbbTV for content discovery (VOD and Guides)

  • Digital UK, Freeview Explore
  • Freeview Australia, Freeview Plus
  • RTÉ, Saorview Connect
  • Media Broadcast, Freenet TV Guide
  • Tivù, TivuOn HbbTV app
  • Simplestream, Pop fun
  • Sofia Digital, Mediacorp Toggle Red Button

Best use of HbbTV for advertising and promotion

  • Smartclip, Smartclip Addressable TV Platform
  • AdScribe, AdScribe Engage
  • Teravolt, Smart Pages
  • RTI/Mediaset, ADD+Plus Enabler
  • R2B2 sro, R2B2 AYM

Best marketing or promotion of an HbbTV based service

  • Freeview Australia, Freeview Plus
  • Media Broadcast, Freenet TV
  • Tivù, Video promo for the tivùon!
  • SRG, Push the right button!

Best technology innovation in an HbbTV product or service

  • Universidad de los Andes, HEd & Enhanced broadcasted related contents
  • Mautilus, HbbTV Playout Kit
  • Tivù, Alexa Voice Control & IoT Button
  • Media Broadcast, Dash Direct Play
  • Mineus, Suitest
  • Redtech Redbull, HbbTV Tracking Solution
  • Freeview New Zealand, TV app

Best individual contribution to the HbbTV Association

  • Matt Hammond, BBC R&D
  • Nguyen thi Thanh Van, Samsung Electronics
  • Chris Poole, BBC
  • Klaus Merkel, IRT
  • Ralph Edeine, Fransat
  • Mika Kanerva, Sofia Digital
  • Teun van der Veen, TNO

Best use of HbbTV for broadcast enhancement

  • Mediaset, TGCOM24/Sportmediset/METEO
  • Sofia Digital, Idols
  • Pro Sieben Sat- i, Interactive Quiz
  • Pro Sieben Sat, Red Button Relaunch
  • rbb Online, Band Camp Berlin
  • rbb Online, Tater Opfer Polizei
  • Dotscreen, Augmented TV for France Televisions

Best multiscreen HbbTV service

  • Tivù, tivùon! HbbTV companion screen POC
  • Eutelsat, Sat.tv application
  • Vewd, Vewd Core enhanced with HbbTV 2.0.1 media synchronization and companion screen support
  • Dotscreen, Dotscreen for Fransat Connect
  • Vicomtech, Basque Country election aplication

The judges for these prestigious awards are:

  • Régis Saint-Girons, Independent
  • Renato Farina, Eutelsat Italia
  • Alberto Sigismondi, Tivù
  • Benito Manlio Mari, HDFI
  • Anthony Smith-Chaigneau, NAGRA
  • Gino Alberico, RAI
  • Peter MacAvock, DVB/EBU
  • William Cooper, Informitv